ROYSTON METHODIST CHURCH, Queens Road

Notices

 

 

image002

 

 

 

das - wheelchair50               das - loop30                  das - wc50               

 


 

 

For details of Sunday Services, click here: Services

*****

General Notices

Please remember in your prayers – anyone who is going through a time of sadness, anxiety or undergoing medical treatment.

The December hymn is – StF 230 – Riding out across the desert.

The JMA Bazaar and Coffee Morning - raised a fantastic £970.  A huge thank you to everyone who supported this event and helped to make it so enjoyable and successful. Special thanks to the wonderful team of helpers. Sheila.

Church Advent Calendar – From Saturday 1st December go to our church website: www.royston-methodist.org.uk to click on and open a window each day during Advent to reveal pictures, puzzles, and the Christmas story of the birth of Jesus.  Share it with your friends, children and grandchildren.

Action for Children - Please sign the Church Christmas card and place a donation for Action for Children in the box.  Thank you, the Stewards.

 

Church Christmas Cards – Please could you help deliver cards to the streets around the Church, inviting our neighbours to Christmas services and events?  Anyone can take any pack, you don’t have to live in the street you choose.  We will be very grateful for your help.  Thank You, the Stewards

 

Annual Church Meeting - Apologies - eagle-eyed readers would have seen an error in the December / January edition of Inform.  The date is correct - Sunday 10th February, after the morning service - but the year should have read 2019! 

 

Coffee Break – December / Christmas arrangements - Open up to and including Saturday 22nd December.  Closed Saturday 29th December, closed Saturday 5th January, open Saturday 12th January.

 

Facebook – we have a facebook page for the Church, the link is facebook.com/roystonmethodist.  If you are a facebook user, please go to the page and click on the “Like” button on the main picture at the top of the page.  There is also a link from the Church website.

 

*********

Church Stewards:  Jeff Maddin, Paul Harris, Mel Cooper
& Richard Elcock

 Safeguarding Officer: Richard Elcock

All Notices to Tracy Aggett by Monday evening please.

Minister – Revd Charity Nzegwu, Tel: 01763 241803

www.royston-methodist.org.uk


*********

Diary Dates

Saturdays – 10.00 to 10.45am – Andante

Saturdays – 10.30 to 12noon – Coffee Break

Saturday 8th December – 12 noon until 6.00pm – Orwell Methodist Church – 18th Christmas Tree Festival – with cake and gift stall and homemade soup, rolls, toasted sandwiches and drinks available and on Sunday 9th December – 2.30pm – 6pm-ish – carol singing and mince pies around the fire from 4.00pm. Everyone welcome.

Sunday 9th December – Toy Service – Once again toys for the children under the care of the Cambridge Women's Refuge will be gratefully received at our toy service, as well as gifts for the mothers.  If you haven't been handed a slip showing what the refuge really needs, please ask one of the door stewards or me.  Thank you, Joan Munden.

Monday 10th December – 3.30-5.00pm – Monday Club

Tuesday 11th December – 11.00am – Bible Appreciation Group

Tuesday 11th December – 7.30pm – Ladies Group Carol Service – Come along and join us in the Church. Everyone is welcome including husbands, friends etc. for an evening of readings, stories and Carol singing. There will be light refreshments.

Thursday 13th December – 7.30pm – EldonThursday – Christmas Concert with Royston Roses – In a programme of carols and popular seasonal music community singing poetry and anecdotes.  Seasonal refreshments.  All donations of food will be welcome.  Please contact Tracy on 01763 243376 or email tracy.aggett@btinternet.com in the first instance. No charge, but a collection will be made on behalf of Action for Children.

Friday 14th December – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Sunday 16th December – 3.30-5.30pm - Messy Church on the theme of Christmas - Activities will include: a range of creative crafts, a short celebration service and a meal shared together.  All are welcome. Please see the article in Inform for details. Further information from Sheila Elcock or Gill Grainger.

Friday 21st December – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Sunday 23rd December – Morning Service at 10am, Candle-lit Carol Service at 6.30pm

Monday 24th December – Christmas Eve – 11.30pm – Midnight Communion – led by Revd Charity Nzegwu.

Tuesday 25th December – Christmas Day – 9.30am – Family Service – led by Revd Charity Nzegwu.

Sunday 6th January – 12.15pm – Sunday Lunch

Tuesday 8th January – 7.30pm – Ladies Group – China with Gill Grainger

 

Wednesday 9th January – 7.30 for 7.45pm – Churches Together Meeting – in the Eldon Room

Friday 11th January – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Sunday 13th January – 10.00am - Morning Covenant Service

 

Sunday 20th January – 3.30-5.30pm - Messy Church

 

Wednesday 23rd January – 11.15am – Midweek Communion – in Church.

 

Thursday 24th January – 7.30pm – EldonThursday – Walking the World for U.N.C.L.E. – with Paul Harris

 

Friday 25th January – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Friday 1st February – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Sunday 3rd February – 12.15pm – Sunday Lunch

Tuesday 5th February – 7.30pm – Ladies Group – Visit to the 3rd Royston (Methodist) Guides

 

Thursday 7th February – 7.30pm – Property Meeting.

 

Friday 8th February – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Friday 8th February – 7.15pm – Tunes ‘n’ Spoons

 

Sunday 10th February – Annual Church Meeting, after the morning service

 

Monday 11th February – 7.30pm – Pastoral Meeting, Eldon Room

 

Wednesday 13th February – 7.30pm – Church Council, Eldon Room

 

Thursday 14th February – 7.30pm – EldonThursday – Revd Barbara Garwood

 

Friday 15th February – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Sunday 17th February – 3.30-5.30pm - Messy Church

 

Friday 22nd February – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Wednesday 27th February – 11.15am – Midweek Communion – in Church.

 

Thursday 28th November – 7.30pm – EldonThursday – Be Careful what you wish for – with

 

Friday 1st March – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Friday 1st March – 2.15pm – Women’s World Day of Prayer – in Church.

 

Sunday 3rd March – 12.15pm – Sunday Lunch

Tuesday 5th March – 7.30pm – Visit to the Leys School Chapel with Revd Meharry

 

Friday 8th March – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Thursday 14th March – 7.30pm – EldonThursday – Meridian Musicians

 

Friday 15th March – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Friday 22nd March – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Wednesday 27th March – 11.15am – Midweek Communion – in Church.

 

Thursday 28th March – 7.30pm – EldonThursday – Desert Island Discs – with Revd Colin Smith

 

Friday 29th March – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Tuesday 2nd April – 7.30pm – Ladies Group – Craft with Joan Munden

 

Friday 5th April – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Sunday 7th April – 12.15pm – Sunday Lunch

Thursday 11th April – 7.30pm – EldonThursday - Theatre Lighting (Small) - with Joe Daintrey

 

Friday 19th April – Good Friday

 

Sunday 21st April – Easter Sunday

 

Thursday 25th April – 7.30pm – EldonThursday – Pyramids and Sandstorms - with Joan and Ray Munden

 

Friday 26th April – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Friday 3rd May – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Sunday 5th May – 12.15pm – Sunday Lunch

Tuesday 7th May – 7.30pm – Ladies Group – Garden Inspirations with Lamorna Thomas

 

Thursday 9th May – 7.30pm – EldonThursday – Essex & Herts Air Ambulance

 

Friday 10th May – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Friday 17th May – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Thursday 23rd May – 7.30pm – EldonThursday – Shirley Valentine with Jenny Gibbs - Jenny travelled alone to Turkey in 1993 at the age of fifty and soon found herself living in an inland mountain village, where the villagers spoke no English and still lived a traditional way of life, and where Jenny still lives for part of each year to this day. Her talk traces her adventures from leaving her English home to her arrival in her mountain village and her discovery of a completely different and fascinating way of life.

 

Friday 24th May – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Friday 31st May – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Sunday 2nd June – 12.15pm – Sunday Lunch

Tuesday 4th June – 7.30pm – Ladies Group – Walk and Meal in Grantchester with Audrey Hinnells

 

Friday 7th June – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Saturday 8th June – Tea at The Queen’s

 

Thursday 13th June – 7.30pm – EldonThursday – Visit to St. Bartholomew’s Church, Layston

 

Friday 14th June – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Friday 21st June – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Thursday 27th June – 7.00pm – EldonThursday – BBQ with Dave and Tracy Aggett

 

Friday 28th June – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Tuesday 2nd July – 7.30pm – Ladies Group AGM and Supper

Friday 5th July – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Sunday 7th July – 12.15pm – Sunday Lunch

Friday 12th July – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Friday 19th July – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Friday 26th July – 9.15am – First Friends baby & toddler group

Sunday 4th August – 12.15pm – Sunday Lunch